7:41 pm.

currently it’s 7:41 pm.

why do people always use solid numbers like 3:00 or 4:30, why not 4:56 or 7:23?
why do people always say be back in 10 minutes or 5 minutes, why not, 6 minutes or 13 minutes?

why do we always end up rounding them off? why do we always approx them to an extent where we forget that they even existed?

i genuinely love numbers. maybe it’s because i know how it feels to be unloved at times that i believe that every little number deserves do to be loved. even if it’s 13 or 34.

some people might not like numbers, as they are a quantity or an adjective. or perhaps, its just because they don’t like maths. (tbh i actually like maths bc it’s so fun solving problems and it’s even more fun when it actually makes sense)

but numbers are just like us. some are wanted by many, and some don’t even get to feel loved.

and now it 8:03 pm.

(I’m sorry if this seems like a pointless rant to you, lol)

(this feather was really pretty, i kinda lost it now tho :(( whoops)

24 Comments Add yours

  1. This is something, I’ve always wondered about! Beautiful post!
    Btw It’s 6:51 PM ! πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. V. Ananya says:

    I do the rounding-up part, but I love numbers and Math is one of my favourite subjects!
    I do not know about people in general, but I think I round-off time because I am more used to the analogue clock than the digital one; I even wear analogue watches. Hence, I cannot really say “It’s 5:53”; I say “It’s going to be 5:55”. If it is 5:54 (or very close to 5:55), I say “It’s five (minutes) to six”.

    I see now that I just ranting something – I got lost in my thoughts… Did you even understand what I just wrote here?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. V. Ananya says:

      By the by, the digital clock in my laptop says “17:06”. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

    2. tee says:

      hahah yes I did understand. I’m glad you rambled away. it weirdly made me happy. πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. V. Ananya says:

        Cool! I’m glad I did!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. V. Ananya says:

        See how that post triggered a cycle of happiness?! πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      3. tee says:

        hahaha, its a beautiful cycle, isn’t it? how happiness spreads.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. V. Ananya says:

        Yep! Totally!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. V. Ananya says:

        Anyhow, it’s really nice knowing you! πŸ™‚ I’m glad I found your blog!

        Liked by 1 person

      6. tee says:

        likewise. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      1. V. Ananya says:

        That’s great! Thanks!😎😎

        Like

  3. shonessa says:

    So so trueeee! I too always wonder why?? Its being disrespectful to the numbers😐. But I always like to hear the Exact time! Currently its 8:34 AM

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tee says:

      exactly. its like, we’re just forgetting they even exist. which is just plain sad.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It ’cause we have 10 dingers, as I understand it. But yeah – other numbers need some love too. I particularly like 13,468 – a very unacknowledged number and length of time. I often say that I’ll get back to you in 13,468 seconds and then laugh at the expression on the faces of the poor fools who try to figure out how many hours they have to stay there until I get back. Still, it’s not all bewilderment and laughter – sometimes I make it easy for them and say that there are not enough doughnuts in the world to make me stay in the office and work for you past 4pm. That shuts them up pretty quick, I can tell you!. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tee says:

      hahahah awwwww. 13,468. cute number tho. hahha

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I kNoW – right!!
        πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  5. This is a really lovely piece. We are so very ingrained into this 5 minute culture. It’s subtly part of our subconscious on watches and clocks but stating the tine in fives seems fake. We always round up or down to the closest five. I used to have to log messages recieved in a previous job and whenever they came in on a five I always felt like I was somehow lying there’s more truth in 15:42 (current time) that 40 or 45.
    I like this piece it’s a weird thought that people rarely have and it’s resulted in a beautifully endearing piece πŸ•›

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tee says:

      exactly, that’s exactly what I was trying to say. and thankyou so much, I’m glad I’m not alone in this dilemma.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Definitely not. It’s the rebel I’m you not wanting to conform to something that’s merely a societal structure and should have the freedom to be exact but society at large may be too focused on having too little time than telling the exact time

        Liked by 1 person

      2. tee says:

        wow, yes.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

