our hearts and other broken parts

i’m watching myself through the reflection, i look as dead as i feel. the eyeliner isn’t as smudged as it was last night. i’m trying to pick up the pieces of the hearts that i’ve broken. maybe they’ll fit together to make mine. i want to help myself with all the pieces and lay them on a plain sheet so i can judge them separately and inspect even their littlest flaws. I see my mother come but she isn’t looking at me, she’s looking at what i was trying to piece back together. she nods as if she understands, i try to look into her eyes. but i’m just a reflection. soon she stands in front of me and i’m no longer the reflection. i try to pick up the pieces now, but they’re slippery. they slipped past my fingers just as quickly as i did from yours. i spill milk over the pieces and try to create a masterpiece. i’ve never been an artist but i could always paint the sky. i’ve never been a writer but i could always make my words dance. i’ve never been a lover but i could always break their hearts. i take the pieces and paste them, i try to create a shape but they don’t fit well with each other. they have cracks over them and they keep changing colours. i grab the one that looks new and break it into two more pieces. i can feel the wicked smile creeping to my face but the tears form just as quickly. the heart looks sad now, i want to piece it back together. i’m the reflection again, i want to help myself with gathering all the pieces and put them together to make it look like a heart, somewhat similar to mine but i’m a mere reflection and I’ll never have any hands, or perhaps a voice.
– t.

(the title was inspired by this book i have, โ€œmy heart and other black holes,โ€ย by jasmine warga)

14 Comments Add yours

  1. This is so beautifully written! ๐Ÿ’™
    I love that book tho. *_*

    Liked by 2 people

    1. tee says:

      thankyou so much. ๐Ÿฆ„

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I wish to reblog this one. Can you please enable the option? Thank you! You’re way of writing mesmerises me. ๐Ÿ’™

    Liked by 2 people

    1. tee says:

      that means the world to me, thannyou. ๐Ÿ’™

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re most welcome!
        Keep writing! ๐Ÿ’™

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on HIRAETH. and commented:
    Found this beautifully written piece of art.

    Like

  4. Mysterious Scribbler brought me here. TEE, your everything is so lavishly uhh.. radiant. It’s really hard to find original and gold pieces now. Glad I’m here.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tee says:

      thankyou so so much. originality is actually the key even the title for this isnt the key. I actually try hard to stay original, sometimes when I write something and later realise that someone already has something like that, I just erase it then. I know how it feels to be plagiarised so i just try not to make the other person feel the same way. haha, but thankyou so much. means a lot heh.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Solm. (Am I allowed to use these on blogs?) Same. Keeping it original is hard. Even the same thought or something close once read makes it seem overused over read.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tee says:

      exactlyyyy hm.

      Like

  6. Joel F says:

    This is beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tee says:

      thankyou so much. ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Joel F says:

        You’re welcome.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

