apologies; 1:51AM.

I hear countless apologies everyday, each holding a meaning so vague, you can never understand their motive.

“I’m sorry I was late.”
“I’m sorry I hurt you.”
“I’m sorry for your loss.”
“I’m sorry for what I did.”
“I’m sorry I didn’t call you”
“I’m sorry for being so stupid.”
“I’m sorry I never listen to you.”

i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sorry i’m sor

no. you’re not. not when you don’t know what you’re apologising for. not when your only reason for saying sorry is to get rid of it.

your apologies don’t hold a meaning until you know what you’re apologising for and you mean it from the bottom of your heart. saying you mean it from the bottom of your heart doesn’t necessarily mean that it is, indeed, from the bottom of your heart.

apologies these days are treated as a burden. thinking with an inward groan, “oh, now I’ll have to go apologise to her.”

You’re not doing anyone a favour by apologising, if thats how you’re going to treat the person, then don’t even bother apologising. The person might deserve your apology but definitely not that kind of behaviour.

the only reason, people now actually apologise is as a formality or to get the other person to shut up or to avoid conflict.

and then, there are some rare people who do mean their apology but you know what they’re apologising for? For being themselves which is, in the society’s eyes, the biggest sin. Because in some twisted logic, they’re not good enough. Because they are not worthy enough to be accepted.

There are some certain things you should never have to apologise for. One of them being, ‘for being yourself.’ Don’t ever apologise for being you. You are enough. You being you is enough. You don’t have to become someone else in order to be accepted. If they can’t accept you in your purest form, there’s something wrong with them. It’s not necessary that your views have to match. If they think they’re right, let them keep their thinking. They don’t have to apologise for being themselves either.

But coming back to the point, apologies are to be filled with regret, guilt and dismay, not irritation, satisfaction and relief.

Apology

 

[re-posting this again because wanted and needed this to be read again]  [this was originally posted on 24th may, 2016 tho. wow time flies??]

22 Comments Add yours

  1. Awesome and honest post, great use of the prompt. I posted a similar blog about the overuse of I’m sorry, if you’re interested, “The Power of Apology.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tee says:

      Thankyou! I’ll check it out. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Shivam says:

    it’s v v good.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. tee says:

      thankyouu 😂

      Like

  3. V. Ananya says:

    Hey, do you mind if I reblog this? This is among the most powerful, thought-provoking posts that I have ever read! I would to share it with my friends as well. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tee says:

      thannk you so much and of course, go ahead.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. V. Ananya says:

        Thanks a ton! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. V. Ananya says:

    Reblogged this on AnanyaWorld and commented:
    This is among the most powerful, thought-provoking posts that I have ever read!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Paridhi says:

    hello tee, this was amazing!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tee says:

      thankyou :’)

      Like

  6. Agreed. I’d prefer people not apologising at all rather than fake apologies.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tee says:

      exactly! fake apologies are actually a lot more painful, lol.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. And irritating to receive. Like “no thanks I don’t want you to do me a fucking favour by apologising.”

        Liked by 1 person

    2. tee says:

      it’s not like i’m begging you to apologize.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Also, I love your blog’s name. I just Googled it.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. tee says:

        AND I JUST POSTED ABOUT IT.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. tee says:

        and thankyou so much asdhfkdks

        Liked by 1 person

  7. malisehoney says:

    Great honest post! Would love some feedback on my newest content piece ‘look at me now’ 😊 https://malisehoney.wordpress.com/2017/05/04/look-at-me-now/

    Like

  8. feifei says:

    This is good. Thanks, I needed to read this

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

