but, what if?

01, year: 2006.

“but momma what if i grow up to marry a boy who doesn’t let me keep rabbits and is scared of fish?”

“sweetheart, you’re only 8 right now. get me some spoons from that drawer, will you?”

02, year: 2009

“mama, what if i grow up to marry a boy who doesn’t let me paint the walls and thinks turtles are stupid?”

“honey, you’re just 11. think about the upcoming field trip to the aquarium okay? I’m sure, you’ll see loads of turtles there.

02, year: 2009.

“mama, what if i grow up to marry a man who doesn’t let me buy books and feels as if they’re a waste of money?”

“..it’s only been 30 mins, honey. last time I checked, it generally takes a lot more than that for your age to change. sleep now, will you? I’ll come check in 10 minutes.”

03, year: 2013

“so mum, what if grow up to marry a man who doesn’t let me burp in front of him and feels weird about caramel and cheese popcorn mixed together?”

“darling, you just turned 15 right now. please just go back to clicking photos of those new shoes, okay?”

04, year: 2015

“mom, what if i grow up to marry a man who doesn’t respect me and considers my choices as foolish and immature ones?”

“love, you’re just 17 right now. boys your age are all foolish and immature, we’ll talk about this when you’re a little more old.”

05, year: +2019

“ma, what if grow up to marry a man who is embarrassed by me and changes when he sees who i really i am? what if he doesn’t think i am enough? what if he wants more and i cant give it to him?”

“listen now, you’re a little gem, okay? damn precious, that’s what you are. anyone to be loved by someone as special as you would be so so so lucky. and I’m not just saying this because you’re my little girl but because I know the kind of person you are and your kind is the best of all kinds. the man you love will not be perfect and he will not love everything about you, maybe he’ll hate the fact that you burp in very unladylike ways but he will never expect you to change. he will accept it, because he loves you. he will live with it, because that’d be easier to do than to lose you. when you find love, I’ll be damned, if its not the most beautiful thing. help find my glasses now, will you? I think i kept them near the yellow vase. do you think the rabbit took it?”

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Paridhi says:

    Oh God, this is so heartwarming and beautiful tee!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tee says:

      thankyou so much paridhii !!! (have I told you how much I like your name??? it’s so cute??)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Paridhi says:

        This makes me so happy, thankyou😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This touched me really deep. Marvelous, never stop writing

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tee says:

      thankyou so much, I was really nervous to post this one. means a lot, thankyou. (and your comments are always so nice asdfgks thankyou!!!!!!)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It is always my pleasure, always

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Jackiedm69 says:

    ♡♥♡
    Jackie69

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pooh says:

    this is honestly one of my favourite writings of yours

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tee says:

      😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭

      Like

Leave a Reply

